Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind

My Name is My Own: Black Survivors Releasing and Reclaiming

Leave a comment

June_Jordan_Collage_APG_lex

Last night a trans-atlantic group of self-identified black woman, femme and/or gender-non conforming survivors gathered digitally for My Name is My Own, a resilience and renewal session.

Guided by June Jordan’s “Poem About My Rights,” we opened ourselves up to “all of it disclosed by the stars and the silence…”and invited the ancient wisdom of our ancestors and our own knowing into the space in celebration of the wise darkness of this phase of the moon.

We asked ourselves “what in the hell is everyone being so reasonable about?” and gave ourselves permission to be angry and honest about the impact of violence and even the ways that we are violent with ourselves when we force ourselves to be reasonable in unreasonable circumstances.  In preparation for the coming new moon we released our acceptance of the unacceptable…with breathing, with fire, with water, with flushed toilets.

We got specific about what Jordan calls our “simple daily and nightly self-determination” and celebrated the sacredness of our care practices, our joys, the rituals that hold us here, the soil that makes the world we deserve possible.  We reveled in the truth that despite everything we have filled our lives with love in infinite small and large ways.

And finally we reclaimed our names in a group poem to share with you!  I recommend reading and repeating this poem out loud. It feels amazing. If you have the opportunity to read this with a group of black women/femme/gnc survivors it will align your chakras, fix your computer and heal your soul.

*If you want a chance to gather together check out next week’s Brilliance Remastered online intensive Last is a Verb: Archiving After the End of the World or Nobody Mean More to Me Than You, the Brilliance Remastered Fall Retreat in Durham, NC in October.

*****************************

My Name is…My My My 

 

“my name is my own my own my own”

-June Jordan “Poem About My Rights”

 

 

my name is

creation

creation

creation.

 

my name is

an answered prayer

an answered prayer

an answered prayer

 

my name is

so sincere

so sincere

so sincere.

 

my name is

making space

making space

making space

 

my name is

here

here

here.

 

my name is

my choice

my choice

my choice.

 

my name is

my truth

my truth

my truth.

 

my name is

yes

yes

yes.

 

my name is

louder

louder

louder.

 

my name is

taking back power

taking back power

taking back power.

 

my name is

my yes to the spirit

my yes to the spirit

my yes to the spirit.

 

my name is

openhearted

openhearted

openhearted.

 

my name is

love

love

LOVE.

 

my name is

a hundred ways to kiss the ground

a hundred ways to kiss the ground

a hundred ways to kiss the ground

 

my name is

gratitude

gratitude

gratitude

 

my name is

the precious sound of their prayers

the precious sound of their prayers

the precious sound of their prayers

 

my name is

grasping at the root

grasping at the root

grasping at the root

 

my name is

forgiveness

forgiveness

forgiveness.

 

my name is

letting go

letting go

letting go.

 

my name is

all the gentleness that i’ve ever wanted

all the gentleness that i’ve ever wanted

all the gentleness that i’ve ever wanted

 

my name is

the red in the colorado twilight

the red in the colorado twilight

the red in the colorado twilight

 

my name

is a healing song

is a healing song

is a healing song

 

my name is

a dance of joy

a dance of joy

a dance of joy

 

my name is

the power of black feminism

the power of black feminism

the power of black feminism

 

my name is

Africa

Africa

Africa.

 

my name is

a word written in your heart

a word written in your heart

a word written in your heart

 

my name is

all of you

all of you

all of you.

 

my name is

come with me

come with me

come with me

 

my name is

all of us ever

all of us ever

all of forever.

 

my name is

the loudest high five

the loudest high five

the loudest high five.

 

my name is

got that right

got that right

got that right.

 

my name is

sho nuff

sho nuff

sho nuff.

 

my name is

say that

say that

say that.

Leave a Reply

