Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind

Black Love Oracle Day #4: Poem About Police Violence #whateverwhenever #blacklivesmatter

Leave a comment

“All I want to know
for my own protection
is are we capable
of whatever
whenever.”

Essex Hemphill “For My Own Protection”

The #whateverwhenever oracle is Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind‘s offering to the #blacklivesmatter ride, a national movement in solidarity with young black people in Ferguson, Missouri with a vision towards a just society within which black life is cherished.   Today’s poem is June Jordan’s “Poem About Police Violence,” which I offer today because of your bravery in placing your physical bodies where you place them and placing your crucial and confrontational questions where they belong. 

To activate the oracle, choose a letter of the alphabet (your initials? the initials of a loved one? a letter that is speaking to you..) and read the poem for that letter aloud to yourself.  If you happen to choose a letter that has no words in the original poem you get to make your own poem using only words that begin with that letter of the alphabet. 

Poem About Police Violence

Concordance

 

A

 

about

a

a

a

a

accident

amaze

and

am

and

affront

as

and

Arthur Miller

a

accident

again

again

accidents

all

a

amaze

a

a

a

a

accident

 

B

 

black

boy

black

baby

back

bestial

Brooklyn

been

be

baby

blots

bestial

but

black

boy

black

 

C

 

cop

cop

comes

cosmos

consciousness

cops

cop

cop

 

D

 

danger

death

don’t

diction

 

E

 

everytime

everytime

ear

ensares

18

18

ensuing

everytime

everytime

 

F

 

feeling

fought

feeling

 

G

 

globe

gun

 

H

 

H

 

happen

house

have

him

having

happen

 

I

 

if

I

I

I

in

in

idolize

I

insurance

is

I’m

is

is

it

if

 

J

 

just

justifiable

 

K

 

kill

kill

kill

kill

killing

kill

kill

kill

kill

 

L

 

lower

like

like

like

lose

long

like

like

lower

 

M

 

me

man

me

my

mouth

mountainous

me

man

my

my

murder

me

me

man

 

N

 

never

not

not

 

O

 

Olympian

of

or

of

order

one

of

oh

on

over

only

or

often

 

P

 

poem

police

pools

people

 

Q

 

quiet

 

R

 

rate

running

rabid

repetitive

reckon

rerun

rate

 

S

 

something

subsequently

sometimes

snows

sun

sometimes

signs

seen

subdue

strangled

scuffle

subdue

scuffle

street

so

suitable

saying

sometimes

something

subsequently

 

T

 

tell

think

they

then

they

then

think

the

the

to

the

the

the

thinking

the

12th

the

the

the

tip

tongue

that

they

tell

to

to

the

the

the

that

the

that

the

that

that

the

to

to

the

too

tell

think

they

then

they

then

think

the

 

U

 

under

ugly

 

V

 

violence

 

W

 

what

would

we

we

would

way

women

working

when

was

war

war

what

would

we

we

would

 

X

 

Y

 

you

you

your

you

you

you

 

Z

Leave a Reply

