Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind

#whateverwhenever #blacklivesmatter Black Love Oracle Day 2: For My Own Protection

Leave a comment

“All I want to know
for my own protection
is are we capable
of whatever
whenever.”

Essex Hemphill “For My Own Protection”

The #whateverwhenever oracle is Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind’s offering to the #blacklivesmatter ride, a national movement in solidarity with young black people in Ferguson, Missouri with a vision towards a just society within which black life is cherished.   Today’s poem is “For My Own Protection” by Essex Hemphill from the revolutionary anthology In the Life edited by Joseph Beam. 

To activate the oracle, choose a letter of the alphabet (your initials? the initials of a loved one? a letter that is speaking to you..) and read the poem for that letter aloud to yourself.  If you happen to choose a letter that has no words in the original poem you get to make your own poem using only words that begin with that letter of the alphabet. 

A

 

an

and

are

and

able

a

are

almost

and

a

around

around

Anacostia

are

and

and

any

a

about

attire

a

all

are

 

B

 

be

Black

be

be

Black

be

Black

blood

bush

 

C

 

cats

Chrysler

can

can

chain

can

can

chains

curls

conkaline

concerned

capable

 

D

 

dogs

don’t

don’t

dead

drugs

do

dreadlocks

 

E

 

each

extinct

each

 

 

F

 

for

for

Foundation

formed

form

for

 

G

 

H

 

Heritage

human

human

Harlem

Hollywood

have

 

I

 

I

if

I

I

if

if

I’m

I

is

 

J

 

K

 

know

 

L

 

life

lives

living

 

M

 

my

my

men

missile

men

make

more

my

 

N

 

Nixon

Nuclear

not

 

O

 

own

organization

other

other

our

or

of

own

 

P

 

protection

priceless

people

pacified

phillies

protection

 

Q

 

R

 

release

rock-n-roll

ready

ready

 

S

 

start

save

snails

saved

saved

should

save

study

saying

sex

sites

surely

South Africa

s

soldier

 

T

 

to

to

the

to

to

the

to

to

the

then

to

take

tomorrow

than

the

to

 

U

 

us

 

V

 

W

 

want

whales

we

want

wait

want

Wall Street

we

with

we

want

we

whatever

whenever

 

X

 

Y

 

Z

Leave a Reply

